Exit mail using the "q" command

Using the q command tidies up your mailbox:

  1. Messages you have read are moved to a file called mbox in your home directory.
  2. Messages you have deleted are removed from your mailbox.
  3. Any messages that have not been read or deleted are retained in your mailbox and marked as unread.
  4. Messages that have been explicitly saved to a file other than mbox are deleted.

[Home] [Search] [Index] This site maintained by webmaster@unixpower.org